Roles in Ecolab KitchenIQ™ are the different levels of leadership in your organization. We input Roles and give them a Rank, with Location Manager being #1 and Team Member being the lowest. This is important because you can only assign Infractions and view Accountability for employees in a lower Rank. After creating Roles, you can add your employees to their Role in your organization and set Permissions for them. You will also have the ability to edit Permissions by the individual User, as well as adjust their PIN number.
To view or edit Roles & Users, you must have the "Manage Admin Settings" permission. For more information on different role permissions visit Edit Role Permissions
Create a Role
To create a role, you'll need to be in Roles & Users in Admin
- From the Menu, tap Admin
- Navigate to Roles & Users
- Tap the + sign in the top right corner
- Tap Create Role
- Enter a name for the Role
- e.g. Director, Team Lead, Trainer
- Make these names familiar to your restaurant!
- Select a Role Type
- The role type determines certain in‑app behaviors (such as who can be assigned as a leader) based on the role
- Organizations can control permissions at the role type level to ensure consistent access and standards
- Set the Role's ranking
- This defines where the role lies in your business hierarchy. Location Manager is the highest rank (1), and Team Members should be the lowest rank
- Example: Location Manager (1) -- Manager (2) -- Leader (3) -- Team Member (4)
- Toggle on or off the Permissions the role needs
- Tap Create Role
When you import users from HR payroll, all employees will be imported into the Team Member Role. You can then sort them in different Roles accordingly. Ensure that the Team Member role is the lowest rank. You can do this by tapping the role, then tapping Settings at the top of the screen. Rearrange the role rankings, then tap save.
Ensure you configure Permissions for any new Role. Check out Edit Role Permissions
Add Users to a Role
- From the Menu, tap Admin
- Navigate to Roles & Users
- Tap the Role you want to add users to
- Tap the + sign in the top right corner
- Search for and select the employees to add to the Role
- Tap Save
Edit Permissions by Role
- From the Menu, tap Admin
- Tap Roles & Users
- Tap the Role you would like to edit permissions for
- For more information on creating roles, check out Create a role
- Tap Permissions
- Tap the toggle to add or remove a permission for this role
How to Edit a User's Permissions, Role, or PIN
- From the Menu, tap Admin
- Tap Roles & Users
- Tap on the Users tab at the top of the screen
- Search for and select the User
- Tap to edit their Role or PIN if needed
- Tap on Permissions to edit
- Tap the toggles to turn on or off a permission for the user
- This will update permissions for this individual User, not the Role
If you want to deactivate a User from your store before they are terminated in payroll, tap Deactivate User at the bottom of the screen
Update a User's Area
Upon their initial sign-in to Ecolab KitchenIQ™, users will select the restaurant Area they belong to. If needed, this choice can be modified in Areas
To change existing areas, check out Create, Edit & Delete Areas
- From the Menu, tap Admin
- Tap Areas
- Tap the + sign on an Area to add employees
- Select any user you'd like to add to the Area
- You can select multiple users
- Tap Save
- All users displaying a check mark will be added to the selected Area
The schedule type a user is assigned in your Scheduling system will override their Area in KitchenIQ when creating Setups (e.g. a user who is assigned to the BOH Area in KitchenIQ, but scheduled a FOH shift in your Scheduling system will appear in FOH setups and not BOH)
Reactivating a User via Mobile App
- From the Menu, tap Admin
- Tap Roles & Users
- Tap Users at the top of the screen
- Change the filter to Deactivated Users
- Search for and select the user you wish to reactivate
- Tap Reactivate User
- Confirm Reactivation
Deactivating a User via Mobile App
- From the Menu, tap Admin
- Tap Roles & Users
- Tap Users at the top of the screen
- Search for and select the user you wish to deactivate
- Tap Deactivate User
- Confirm Deactivation
Once a user is deactivated, they will no longer be able to access your store. If they are not associated with any other stores, they will lose access to KitchenIQ.
Comments
0 comments
Please sign in to leave a comment.